Ghostbusters: What’s In A Review?

by Mel
art: suitfer

Here’s Why People Wondering If the New Ghostbusters is ‘Any Good’ Are Missing The Point

There is an action scene in Ghostbusters (2016).

[There are several action scenes in Ghostbusters (2016), but this one is more important than the others.]

Without giving too much away for those who have yet to see it, the scene involves Kate McKinnon in coveralls, tinted goggles, a horde of malevolent ghosts and two proton pistols.

I was enthralled the first time I saw this scene. My jaw LITERALLY dropped, and I think I actually stopped breathing for a good eight to ten seconds.

The second time I saw it, I was just as awed. This is it, I thought, as McKinnon ducked and dodged and whipped twin proton streams around like some kind of high-tech Indiana Jones. This is THE climactic, over-the-top, slow-mo action scene that I’ve been waiting for all my life.

But this time round, I knew exactly why.

Read the rest on our new site!

 

2 thoughts on “Ghostbusters: What’s In A Review?

  1. Sheila says:

    This is why I cannot stop at the “but is it good? but is it great?” debate.

    I cannot.

    I have to think beyond.

    I have to think beyond “hmmm but the original was this and that”. I have to think beyond “wow that Ocean’s Eleven all-female reboot better not suck”.

    Because it’s not about reboots, at all. It’s about representation.

    YES! YES! YES! Preach girl, preach!

    Like

Leave a Reply

