Girl Scouts Gold Award Report

by Ananya
art: celestedoodles

Throughout my life, I’ve been told I can’t do something because I am a girl, I can’t be valedictorian because I wasn’t smart enough, or that I couldn’t become class president. This ideology was burned into my brain, completely contradicting the ideology that my parents had instilled, which was, that I could do anything.

However, it was hard believing that I could do anything, when I had no role models. All the large CEOs were male. If you looked at a Fortune 500 magazine, there was a large chance the person on the cover was going to be male. There were no female directors at the Oscars, and rarely any female cinematographers or set designers or producers. Women were not making the news for creating revolutionary websites or technology. In addition to the lack of role models in my time, in school, we were not taught about women who made history. We learned about Christopher Columbus, Henry Francis Drake, Shakespeare, Martin Luther King Jr, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Rene Descartes, Plato and even dictators like Hitler.

These names all have one thing in common, they were men, and we learned that they changed history. Further perpetuating the idea that only men had the ability to change the world, and shape history.

Read the rest on our new site!

 

Leave a Reply

