Yes, I Went To A Girls’ School. No, It’s Not What You Think.

By Mel

 

One of my all-time favourite shows is Ja’mie: Private School Girl.

If you’ve never seen it, the show gives audiences several great examples of high school scenarios and experiences. With the character of social queen bee Ja’mie, creator-actor Chris Lilley goes one step further, taking what audiences imagine would play out in a scene dominated and populated almost entirely by teenage girls, and not only fulfilling their pre-existing stereotypes, but also warping them completely out of loop.

One of the reasons I enjoy Ja’mie so much is because of my own experiences in an all-girls school.

I’ve always been what is commonly known as a ‘tomboy’. I spent six years of primary school surrounded by brash, loud boys and quiet, demure girls. Most of that time was spent ‘running with the boys’, as the neighbourhood mothers would cluck. When I found out I would be attending a school with no boys for the next four years, I had no idea what to expect.

I entered this weird and wonderful new land of girls’ school with wide, awestruck eyes. My twelve-year-old self was caught completely off-guard by how much freedom there was to be enjoyed.

Read the rest on our new site!

 

2 thoughts on “Yes, I Went To A Girls’ School. No, It’s Not What You Think.

Leave a Reply

